top of page
  • Writer's pictureSara

My First Float Experience

I wanted to share my experience on my first “Float” appointment for anyone who has been curious about floating, or for those who haven’t heard of it but are open to learning about it.

For starters, I am an incredibly tense human being with a jacked up nervous system for multiple reasons, and because I am so tense often times my body physically hurts. A few weeks ago I booked an appointment with my massage therapist (who is phenomenal), but I left feeling discouraged with myself because my muscles couldn’t loosen up, and I left in as much pain as I walked in with.

I had heard about floating before, but hadn’t researched all the benefits. I decide to do some research and learned that most sensory deprivation tanks or float tanks hold up to 1200 lbs of Epsom salt which of course is what causes you to float, and when you’re floating, physically there isn’t any pressure on your joints or limbs so your body is able to relax and release tension. I also learned that floating has been proven to reduce anxiety and stress, and help those who suffer PTSD. After reading about all the benefits I figured I had nothing to lose, so I booked an appointment.

When I got to my appointment the woman working asked what color light I wanted in my tank and what music I wanted. The place I floated at showed me samples of the colors they had for lighting and offered to play music samples for me to choose from. The woman told me that inside of the float tank, I would be able to control both the light and the sound, so if at any point I wanted to float in the dark I could, and if at any point I wanted the music off I could turn it off. Customizing my experience was one of my favorite parts.

The woman gave me a tour of the room I was to shower in before and after my float, and showed me where the buttons were inside of the tank for the lights and music.

I felt safe because the door to the shower room locked, and then inside of the shower room, there was a door to my float tank.

When I got inside of the float tank I situated the neck pillow they provided and waited for the automated voice to come over the speaker. The voice briefly talked about how it would alert me when my 90 minutes was up and then the meditation music I chose began to play. My 90 minutes had begun.

I was floating effortlessly in 93.5 degree water, and temperature wise it felt perfect to me. The red light surrounding me was pretty, but I found having the light on was distracting so I turned it off and kept it off for the rest of my session. As I floated in the sound proof tank, I felt my mind quiet and my body start to relax. I could feel my heart rate slow. I remember thinking to myself “Is this what it feels like to float in space?.” I had never experienced anything like this before.

I told myself to live in the moment, and for 90 minutes, I did. Everything outside of the tank was just that. Gone from my mind. I floated on my back, I floated on my belly, and there were a few times was very close to falling asleep.

When my 90 minutes was up, the automated voice prompted me to exit. I got out of the float tank, showered, and was on my way.

If I were to describe my first float experience in one word, it would be magic. This is why. The Epsom salts certainly draw out toxins in the body and although I didn’t physically look lighter, my body felt lighter. Walking to my car once I stepped outside my physical pain had gone down immensely. My mind was in such a great place and I felt happy. (The relaxation response that floating induces floods your body with endorphins.) You can equate how I felt before my float to my battery being dangerously low, but when I left my battery was fully thriving in the green! Today is Wednesday and I’ve carried this vibe with me since Monday and I am loving it.

Please believe my next appointment I’ll be booking the deluxe tank with the stars that illuminate the ceiling. And a float membership? That’ll most likely be happening too.

Below I have added some links to both informational websites and YouTube videos about all the benefits and the science around floating.



https://www.harpersbazaar.com/beauty/health/a13474/what-its-like-to-float-in-a-sensory-deprivation-tank/


https://www.healthline.com/health/sensory-deprivation-tank#TOC_TITLE_HDR_2











64 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Good News, I’ve Found Some Important Reads

In March I wrote a post titled “A Million Books Except the Ones I Need.” Since writing that post, I’ve been able to get my hands on some important reads. (Thank goodness!) I wanted to provide a list o

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page